Resilience

Hannah Claus

Kanien’kehà:ka / English heritage, Member of Tyendinaga - Mohawks of the Bay of Quinte

  • repeat along the border – 2006
  • Looped video projection (00:03:31)
  • 4.9 x 2.7 m
repeat along the border

The day I filmed this part of repeat along the border, the landscape lined up perfectly. The layered visuals usually represented in Haudenosaunee beaded borderwork were before me: the road became the horizontal line of life; the roadside ditch was the underworld below; the fields sat above, with Skyworld’s rounded clouds at the top.

In my video, white beaded forms descend from the sky into this space. In this still, the forms halt just as they become “embeaded” in the land. To me, the repeating beaded motif is like people joined together in a continuous line, reminding me of the question: “From what clay are you made?”

The beadwork originates from a woman’s leggings in the McCord Museum’s archive. The road scene was shot at Tyendinaga, my grandfather’s community, of which I am a member. These elements unite and embody relationships between beadwork and memory and complexities of place, time and identity.

– Hannah Claus

billboard locations

Treaty:

Please note that not all digital billboards will be displaying Resilience consistently. Treaty, territory, and language information has been referenced from Native Land, and may be incomplete.

Resilience

Hannah Claus

Kanien’kehà:ka/descendance anglaise, membre de la Première Nation Tyendinaga- Mohawks de la baie de Quinte

  • repeat along the border – 2006
  • Projection vidéo en boucle (00:03:31)
  • 4,9 x 2,7 m
repeat along the border

Le jour où j’ai filmé cette partie de repeat along the border, le paysage était parfaitement aligné. J’avais devant moi les éléments visuels étagés que l’on retrouve généralement dans les bordures perlées haudenosaunees : la route devenait la ligne horizontale de la vie, le fossé en contrebas, le monde souterrain, les champs au-dessus avec, tout en haut, les nuages arrondis représentant le monde céleste.   

Dans ma vidéo, des formes blanches perlées descendent du ciel pour envahir cet espace. Sur cette photo, les formes s’arrêtent au moment où elles s’intègrent à la terre. Pour moi, le motif perlé qui se répète, c’est comme des gens qui s’unissent pour former une ligne continue, me faisant penser à la question : « De quelle argile êtes-vous faits? »

Le perlage provient d’une jambière de femme qui se trouve dans les archives du musée McCord. La scène a été tournée à Tyendinaga, la communauté de mon grand-père dont je suis membre. Ces éléments unissent et incarnent les relations entre le perlage, la mémoire et les complexités du lieu, du temps et de l’identité.

– Hannah Claus

emplacements des panneaux

Traité:

Remarque: tous les panneaux numériques n’affichent  les oeuvres de Résilience de la même manière.  Les renseignements concernant le traité, le territoire et la langue ont pour source de référence le site Territoire Traditionnel, et peuvent être incomplets.