Resilience

About MAWA

Mentoring Artists for Women’s Art (MAWA) is a Winnipeg-based artist-run centre that encourages the intellectual and creative development of women-identified visual artists by providing education and critical dialogue. Over the course of more than three decades, it has built a thriving, intergenerational community, devoted to shared knowledge and resources.

In MAWA mentorships, senior women artists share their experience and expertise with developing women artists in a learning experience that is nothing short of transformative. MAWA also provides multiple learning opportunities for people of all genders, such as artist talks by local, national and international artists, discussion groups, workshops in particular artistic skills, professional development workshops, lectures on a variety of topics, critical writing opportunities, studio visits with established curators, film screenings, field trips, an artist in residence program, a resource centre/lending library and more. MAWA also undertakes large projects, such as Resilience and the recently released Desire Change: Contemporary Feminist Art in Canada, the first book of it kind. All programming is low-cost or free.

MAWA actively hires Indigenous, New Canadian, rural, Francomanitoban women and women living with disabilities as program leaders, to ensure diverse points of view and dialogue with broad perspectives. Over 300 paid members, 400 volunteers and 5,000 participants engage in MAWA programming and events each year.

MAWA gives visual artists at all stages of their careers the tools to challenge themselves and to develop their professional aspirations. MAWA inspires reflection upon issues of equality for all. MAWA is an accessible, welcoming space for rigorous, active art engagement. 

Through its activities, MAWA has supported some of the most established artists in the country and continues to foster generations of artists and art-lovers to come.

The Resilience Team

Lee-Ann Martin

Lee-Ann Martin

Curator

Lee-Ann Martin is an independent curator of contemporary Indigenous art living in Ottawa, Ontario. She is the former Head Curator of the MacKenzie Art Gallery in Regina, Saskatchewan and the former Curator of Contemporary Aboriginal Art at the Canadian Museum of Civilization in Gatineau, Quebec.  Martin’s numerous curatorial projects include the international co-curated exhibition, Close Encounters: The Next 500 Years for Plug In Institute of Contemporary Art in Winnipeg, Manitoba and the nationally touring exhibitions, Bob Boyer: His Life’s Work, for the MacKenzie Art Gallery, Regina, Saskatchewan, Au fil de mes Jours (In My Lifetime) for the Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec in Québec City, Québec,  and Alex Janvier: His First Thirty Years, 1960-1990 for the Thunder Bay Art Gallery, Thunder Bay, Ontario and INDIGENA: Perspectives of Indigenous Peoples on 500 Years, with Gerald McMaster, for the Canadian Museum of Civilization, Gatineau, Quebec, which toured internationally. Martin has curated, written and lectured extensively on contemporary Indigenous art both nationally and internationally for more than twenty-five years.  Her writing has been published by Oxford University Press, University of Washington Press, Banff Centre Press, National Museum of the American Indian, Douglas & McIntyre, and the National Gallery of Canada, among others.

Ko’ona Saber

Ko’ona Saber

Traditional Knowledge Keeper

Ko’ona is an Anishinaabe-kwe member of the Bizhiw doodem (Lynx Clan) from Peguis First Nation, where her father Walter George Cochrane was integral in the reclamation of Indigenous cultural practices prior to her birth in 1970. She had until fall 2016 resided in the North End of Winnipeg for thirteen years, where she worked strengthening and supporting Indigenous families and children. Ko’ona has been sharing her Indigenous teachings for over twenty years, through traditional family parenting education and hand drumming. Last year life changed dramatically for Ko’ona, June 21her father’s birthday, she married Ivon Saber multi-talented land developer. They now spend their time between properties on the shores of east Lake Winnipeg near Hollow Water First Nation and winters in Yaqan Nukiy Territory of southern British Columbia.

Jacquelyn Cardinal

Jacquelyn Cardinal

Graphic Designer

Jacquelyn Cardinal is Sakāwithiniwak from the Sucker Creek Cree First Nation and the Co-Founder and Managing Director at Naheyawin, an Edmonton-based consulting firm specializing in Indigenous knowledge and design. In addition to building capacity to help Indigenous businesses succeed, Naheyawin aims to assist non-Indigenous business and organizations in better engaging with their First Nations, Metis, and Inuit audiences. In the past year, Jacquelyn has worked with clients such as xREDx Talks, the World Trade Centre, and the University of Alberta.

Wookey Films

Wookey Films

Video Production

Wookey Films was co-founded by Jérémie and Janelle Wookey, a Franco-Métis brother-sister filmmaking team born and raised in the Canadian prairies. Since 2013, WF has been producing English, French and Indigenous language documentary programming for CBC, Radio-Canada, APTN and Unis TV/TV5. With every project, WF’s objective is to tell stories that contribute to building stronger bridges between Canadians, promoting a deeper level of understanding and empathy through smart, entertaining content.

Lindsey Bond

Lindsey Bond

Project Manager

Lindsey Bond is a lens-based Artist, Project Facilitator, and Mother from Edmonton, Alberta. Bond has worked in diverse communities across Canada and is currently based out of Winnipeg, Manitoba on Treaty 1 Territory. As Indigenous ally and accomplice, Bond focuses her time between creating socially-engaged art projects and working as the Photography Technician at the School of Art, University of Manitoba. Her projects often take shape through street-level photographs, video installations, and books that explore memory, re-contextualize daily movement and navigate pathways between Indigenous and non-Indigenous communities. Bond has previously worked with MAWA in a variety of capacities, including coordinating MAWA’s 30th Anniversary city-wide celebration of Manitoba women Artists. More recently, Bond had the pleasure of working with seven youth on a Winnipeg Arts Council, Youth WITH ART Community Arts Project to Imagine Home and was a Guest Artist on Jumblies Theatre Train of Thought.

Sue Stewart

Sue Stewart

Copy Editor and English Translator

Sue Stewart is a literary translator, arts researcher and writer. Her lifelong engagement with the arts has encompassed administration for various levels of government as well as for arts organizations, in book and magazine publishing, theatre and film. She organized Canada’s first international women’s film festival, Cinémama, with Montreal’s La Centrale galerie Powerhouse and the Cinémathèque québécoise. She is the former Book Publishing Support Officer for the Canada Council for the Arts. With a French-language education In Quebec and experience working in Francophone, Anglophone and bilingual communities, she has maintained a parallel career as the translator of poetry, fiction and non-fiction, film subtitling and theatre surtitling, as well as much work in the arts sector on materials for dance, literary, media and visual arts. She holds a B.A. in Communications, summa cum laude, and an M.F.A. in Creative Writing from UBC.

Brigitte Haguès

Translator

Brigitte Haguès is a self-employed translator. After having taught French in all its forms at the University of Regina for more years than she cares to admit while translating on a free-lance basis, she now devotes herself to translation full-time. Among her clients are various companies and organizations from Saskatchewan and Regina, among them Viterra, Federated Co-operatives Limited, the University of Regina’s Cité universitaire francophone and the MacKenzie Art Gallery. Her past assignments include translating educational materials for the television series “Incredible Story Studio” and “Renegadepress.com,” as well as coordinating translation for the ArtSaskwebsite. As a translator of visual arts texts, she contributed to the catalogue for the exhibition Bob Boyer: His Life’s Work, and collaborated with Françoise Stoppa on catalogues for Wilf Perreault: In the Alleyand 7: Professional Native Indian Artists Inc.She is a CTTIC-certified member of the Association of Translators and Interpreters of Saskatchewan.

The MAWA Team

Shawna Dempsey

Shawna Dempsey

Co-Executive Director

Dana Kletke

Dana Kletke

Co-Executive Director

Alison Davis

Alison Davis

Administration and Communications Coordinator

Adriana Alarcón

Adriana Alarcón

Program and Outreach Coordinator

Resilience

Au sujet de MAWA

Mentoring Artists for Women’s Art (MAWA) est un centre d’artistes autogéré de Winnipeg qui encourage le développement créatif et intellectuel des artistes des arts visuels qui s’identifient comme femmes par l’éducation et le dialogue critique. En plus de trente ans, le centre a créé une communauté intergénérationnelle dynamique qui se consacre au partage des connaissances et des ressources.

Dans les mentorats de MAWA, des artistes chevronnées partagent leur expérience et expertise avec des artistes en développement dans une démarche formative on ne peut plus transformatrice. MAWA offre aussi de multiples occasions de se former aux personnes de tous les genres : présentations par des artistes locaux, nationaux et internationaux, groupes de discussion, ateliers notamment de pratique artistique et de perfectionnement professionnel, causeries sur divers thèmes, écriture critique, visites de studios avec des commissaires établies, projections de films, programme d’artiste en résidence, centre de ressource/bibliothèque de prêt. MAWA entreprend aussi des projets de grande envergure tels que Resilience et la publication récente de l’ouvrage Desire Change : Contemporary Feminist Art in Canada, le premier livre de cette nature. Tous les programmes sont peu coûteux ou gratuits

Pour diriger ses programmes, MAWA embauche des femmes autochtones, des Néo-Canadiennes, des Franco-manitobaines, des femmes des milieux ruraux et des femmes vivant avec un handicap pour assurer que tous les points de vue soient présentés et que les échanges d’idées soient les plus vastes possible. Plus de 300 membres payants, 400 bénévoles et 5 000 participants prennent part aux programmes et événements de MAWA chaque année.

MAWA donne aux artistes des arts visuels à tous les stades de leur carrière les outils pour se dépasser et développer leur projet professionnel. MAWA inspire la réflexion sur les questions d’équité pour tous. MAWA est un espace convivial et accessible pour qui veut un engagement artistique actif et rigoureux. 

Par ses activités,MAWA a appuyé quelques-unes des artistes les plus établies du pays et continue de nourrir les générations futures d’artistes et d’amateurs d’art.

L'équipe Resilience

Lee-Ann Martin

Lee-Ann Martin

Conservatrice

Lee-Ann Martin est une conservatrice indépendante d’art autochtone contemporain qui vit à Ottawa (Ontario). Elle a été conservatrice en chef à la MacKenzie Art Gallery à Regina (Saskatchewan) et conservatrice d’art autochtone au Musée canadien des civilisations à Gatineau (Québec). Ses nombreux projets à titre de commissaire d’exposition comprennent Close Encounters : The Next 500Years, une exposition internationale qu’elle a coorganisée pour le Plug In Institute of Contemporary Art à Winnipeg (Manitoba) et les expositions nationales itinérantes, BobBoyer : His Life’s work (Le travail d’une vie), pour la MacKenzie Art Gallery, à Regina (Saskatchewan), Au fil de mes Jours (In MyLifetime) pour leMusée national des beaux-arts du Québec à Québec (Québec), Alex Janvier : His First Thirty Years, 1960-1990 pour la Thunder Bay Art Gallery, à Thunder Bay (Ontario) ainsi que INDIGENA : Perspectives autochtones, cinq cents ans après,avec Gerald McMaster, pour le Musée canadien des civilisations, à Gatineau (Québec), qui a fait l’objet d’une tournée internationale. Martin organise des expositions, écrit et fait des conférences sur l’art autochtone contemporain national et international depuis plus de vingt-cinq ans. Ses écrits ont été publiés, entre autres, par la Oxford University Press, la University of Washington Press, la BanffCentre Press, le National Museum of the American Indian, Douglas & McIntyre, et le Musée des beaux-arts du Canada.

Ko’ona Saber

Ko’ona Saber

Gardienne du savoir traditionnel

Ko’ona est une Anishinabée membre du Bizhiw doodem (clan du Lynx) de la Première Nation de Peguis, oùson père Walter George Cochrane a joué un rôle capital dans la réhabilitation de pratiques culturelles autochtones avant la naissance de Ko’ona en 1970. Jusqu’à l’automne 2016, elle a habité treize ans dans le quartier Nord de Winnipeg. Son travail consistait à renforcer et appuyer les familles et les enfants autochtones. Depuis plus de vingt ans, Ko’ona partage ses connaissances traditionnelles en enseignant les coutumes parentales et familiales autochtones et le tambour à main. L’année dernière, sa vie a changé dramatiquement. Le 21 juin, date de la fête de son père, elle a épousé Ivon Saber, un promoteur immobilier multitalentueux. Ils passent maintenant leur temps entre leurs propriétés sur la rive est du lac Winnipeg, près de la Première Nation de Hollow Water et l’hiver, dans le territoire du Yaqan Nukiy dans le sud de la Colombie-Britannique.  

Jacquelyn Cardinal

Jacquelyn Cardinal

Graphiste

Jacquelyn Cardinal est Sakāwithiniwak de la Première Nation crie de Sucker Creek. Elle est cofondatrice et directrice générale de Naheyawin, un cabinet-conseil spécialisé dans le savoir et le graphisme autochtones. En plus de renforcer la capacité des entreprises autochtones pour les aider à réussir, Naheyawin aide les entreprises et organismes non autochtones à mieux connaître leurs publics des Premières Nations, métis et inuits. L’année dernière, Jacquelyn a travaillé avec des clients comme REDxTalks, le World Trade Center et l’Université d’Alberta.

Wookey Films

Wookey Films

Production vidéo

Wookey Films a été fondé par Jérémie et Janelle Wookey, une équipe de cinéastes franco-métis formée par un frère et une sœur nés et élevés dans les Prairies canadiennes. Depuis 2013, Wookey Films produit des documentaires en anglais, en français et en langue autochtone pour CBC, Radio-Canada, APTN, Unis TV et TV5. L’objectif de Wookey Films est de raconter des histoires qui aident à bâtir des ponts entre les Canadiens en offrant une compréhension plus approfondie des enjeux et en créant de l’empathie envers tous et chacun. Le tout à travers un contenu à la fois intelligent et divertissant.

Lindsey Bond

Lindsey Bond

Administratrice de projet

Lindsey Bond est une artiste de l’objectif et de l’image, une facilitatrice de projet et une mère de famille. Originaire d’Edmonton (Alberta), Bond a travaillé dans diverses collectivités canadiennes et est établie actuellement à Winnpeg (Manitoba) sur le territoire du Traité 1. Alliée et complice des peuples autochtones, Bond concentre son temps entre la création de projets artistiques engagés et son travail de technicienne en photographie à l’École d’art de l’Université du Manitoba. Ses projets se concrétisent par le biais de photos à l’échelle de la rue, d’installations vidéos et de livres qui explorent la mémoire, recontextualisent le mouvement quotidien et se fraient des voies entre les collectivités autochtones et non autochtones. Bond a déjà occupé différentes fonctions pour MAWA, notamment celle de coordonnatrice de la célébration, à Winnipeg, des artistes manitobaines, à l’occasion du 30eanniversaire de MAWA. Plus récemment, Bond a eu le plaisir de travailler avec sept jeunes à un projet artistique communautaire, Imagine Home, dans le cadre du programme Youth With Art du Conseil des arts de Winnipeg et a été artiste invitée pourTrain of Thought du Jumblies Theatre.

Sue Stewart

Sue Stewart

Réviseure et traductrice

Sue Stewart est une traductrice littéraire, chercheure et rédactrice dans le domaine des arts. Son engagement de longue date envers les arts l’a amenée à travailler dans l’administration pour divers paliers de gouvernement ainsi que pour des organismes artistiques, dans l’édition de livres et de magazines, le théâtre et le cinéma. Elle a organisé Cinémama, le premier festival international de films de femmes au Canada, avec la Centrale galerie Powerhouse et la Cinémathèque québécoise. Elle est l’ancienne agente de programme pour l’édition de livres du Conseil des arts du Canada. De par son éducation en français au Québec et son travail dans des collectivités francophones, anglophones et bilingues, elle poursuit parallèlement une carrière dans la traduction de poèmes, d’œuvres de fiction ou non, de sous-titres au cinéma et de surtitres au théâtre, ainsi que des documents traitant des arts visuels, médiatiques, littéraires et de danse. Elle est titulaire d’un baccalauréat ès arts summa cum laude (communications), et d’une maîtrise en beaux-arts (création littéraire) de l’Université de Colombie-Britannique. 

Brigitte Haguès

Traductrice

Brigitte Haguès est une traductrice indépendante. Après avoir enseigné le français sous toutes ses formes à l’Université de Regina pendant plus d’années qu’elle ose l’admettre tout en étant traductrice pigiste, elle se consacre maintenant à la traduction. Elle a pour clients plusieurs sociétés et organismes saskatchewanais et réginois, dont Viterra, Federated Co-operatives Limited, la Cité universitaire francophone de l’Université de Regina et la Mackenzie Art Gallery de Regina. Par le passé, elle a traduit le matériel pédagogique pour les séries télévisées Incredible Story Studio etRenegadepress.com. et a coordonné la traduction du site webArtSask. Elle a collaboré à la traduction du catalogue de l’exposition Bob Boyer : His Life’s Work. Avec Françoise Stoppa, elle a traduit les catalogues des expositions : Wilf Perreault : In the Alleyet 7: Professional Native Indian Artists Inc., Elle est membre agréée (CTIC) de l’Association des traducteurs et interprètes de la Saskatchewan.

L'équipe MAWA

Shawna Dempsey

Shawna Dempsey

co-directrice exécutive

Shawna Dempsey est codirectrice administrative de Mentoring Artists for Women’s Art, poste qu’elle partage avec Dana Kletke. Dempsey a été co-conservatrice auxiliaire d’art contemporain à la Winnipeg Art Gallery et est actuellement chargée de cours au Département d’études sur les femmes et le genre à l’Université de Winnipeg. L’artiste Lorri Millan et elle collaborent depuis trente ans à la création de performances et de vidéos.

Dana Kletke

Dana Kletke

co-directrice exécutive

Alison Davis

Alison Davis

coordonnatrice de l'administration et des communications

Adriana Alarcón

Adriana Alarcón

coordonnatrice de la programmation et du rayonnement