Resilience

Resilience: 50 Indigenous Art Cards and Teaching Guide

Resilience: 50 Indigenous Art Cards and Teaching Guide is a boxed set that contains 50 full-colour, 8" x 10" reproductions of contemporary Indigenous art and a bilingual (English/French) teaching guide, full of ideas on how to use the art cards to animate discussions and inspire activities in all subjects, from kindergarten to grade 12. It is based on the exhibition curated by Lee-Ann Martin, with teaching guide developed by Yvette Cenerini, Lita Fontaine, Dawn Knight and Albert McLeod.

Images by 50 First Nations, Inuit and Métis women artists embody the multitude of connections and contradictions that constitute contemporary Indigenous identities. This project is a physicalized reminder of buried histories and diverse contemporary perspectives. Most often, resilience is narrowly defined in the dictionary as the ability to recover from and cope with adversity. However, long before the European invasion of the continent, resilience was a central tenet within Indigenous traditional knowledge and customary practices, and it still is. For these Indigenous women artists, resilience is embodied as endurance, adaptability and sovereignty.

The media used and intent of the artworks are complex and diverse, like the artists themselves. This large, multi-vocal national project considers the relationships of First Nations, Inuit and Métis women with land, place, customary practices and contemporary issues, and opens new perspectives on unexamined and often overlooked histories, places and ideas. For further context, please see the essay by curator Lee-Ann Martin.

Purchase the Boxed Set

Order the complete package including the 50 art cards and teaching guide from MAWA.

Buy Now

Download the PDF

The complete document is available free of charge.

Download

Train the Trainer

Want someone to come to your school to provide professional development on how to use these materials in the classroom? Yvette Cenerini is able to come to any school in Winnipeg for a half day training session for $345. Please contact her directly at yvette.cenerini@gmail.com.

Resilience

Résilience: 50 cartes d’art autochtone et guide pédagogique

Résilience : 50 cartes d’art autochtone et guide pédagogique est un coffret contenant 50 reproductions 8 x 10 po en couleur d’oeuvres d’art autochtone contemporain et un guide pédagogique bilingue (anglais-français) plein d’idées au sujet de comment utiliser les cartes artistiques pour animer des discussions et inspirer des activités dans toutes les matières, de la maternelle à la 12e année. Ce projet se fonde sur une exposition sous le commissariat de Lee-Ann Martin et un guide pédagogique développé par Yvette Cenerini, Lita Fontaine, Dawn Knight et Albert McLeod.

Les images créées par 50 artistes femmes inuites, métisses et des Premières Nations incarnent la multitude de connexions et de contradictions qui constituent les identités autochtones contemporaines. Ce projet est un rappel physique d’histoires enfouies et de perspectives contemporaines diverses. Souvent, le terme résilience se définit comme la capacité d’affronter et à surmonter l’adversité. Par contre, dans le discours autochtone, la résilience fait plutôt référence à la capacité à surmonter les impacts antagonistes et durables du colonialisme. Pour ces femmes artistes autochtones, la résilience comprend l’endurance, l’adaptabilité et la souveraineté.

Les techniques employées et les intentions des œuvres sont aussi complexes et diverses que les artistes elles-mêmes. Ce grand projet pluraliste pancanadien envisage les relations qu’entretiennent les femmes des peuples autochtones avec la terre, le lieu, les pratiques coutumières et les enjeux actuels. Il offre de nouvelles perspectives sur des histoires, des idées et des lieux inexplorés et souvent négligés. Pour de plus amples détails en matière de contexte, veuillez consulter la dissertation de la commissaire, Lee-Ann Martin.

Acheter le coffret

Commandez auprès de MAWA le coffret complet comprenant les 50 cartes artistiques et le guide pédagogique.

Acheter

Télécharger le PDF

Le document complet est disponible gratuitement.

Télécharger

Former les formateurs

Souhaitez-vous offrir une session de développement professionnelle portant sur l'utilisation de la trousse en salle de classe? Yvette Cenerini peut se rendre à n'importe quelle école winnipégoise pour une demi-journée de formation au prix de 345 $. Veuillez la contacter directement à yvette.cenerini@gmail.com.